top of page

Review: "Take Me With You" by Melyssa Winchester

Title: Take Me With You

Author: Melyssa Winchester

Rating: ***** 5 Stars

Review:

This book was hard for me to read. The issues in here are a little to close to home for me. Two of them more than others. I wasn’t even sure I could review it because of this but I owe it to the author to try.

Eric and Amelia’s story is not an easy one to stomach. I stopped reading this book 3 times because the visual aspects were so real and so raw that it physically made me sick. It’s not a bad thing. It’s a very real portrayal of real issues and should be seen by everyone but I’m tellin u straight out, it’s gonna make u sick before it makes u better.

You are gonna wanna hurt someone for what these characters go through. I wanted to physically hurt Amelia’s father and Eric’s bullies at the same damn time. I was the bully before but knowin what I do now bout life and pain and the reality of what words and actions cause, I fucking hated what he went through and wanted to hurt them like they hurt him.

This story is less bout Eric and more about Amelia. This was her redemption but healing at the same time and by the end, I think that I got my moneys worth with both of those things. The author made me believe in the struggle and also the progression of change. What I mean is, that it can happen. It’s not unrealistic or forced and fake.

Considerin how personal this one was to me and my own struggles, the author made me believe that even I can change from the way I’m thinking if that makes sense. She took a real thing and made it count for more than just some character on the page. For the readers that might be living it too.

There’s a whole lot of sadness and pain in these pages, but hope too. Finding something in someone, even the most unexpected someone and learning your worth and how to heal until you can become a better person it was perfect.

Im so affected by the way this was written and turned out I don’t have a fuckin clue if this review is even gonna come out right but ignore the other two books before this one and im flat out tellin u this one will bring u to ur knees and make u feel and a lot of the time its shit u don’t wanna feel but needs to be felt.

If u want a book that’s sweet and lovely and all roses and fuckin sunshine choose another book but if u want one that’s filled with pain and then lifts u up with hope and faith and makes you feel and believe then this book is for u.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page